7th MEL PhD Competition (2016-2019)

IAME associated Journal Maritime Economics & Logistics (MEL) organises the MEL ‘Palgrave McMillan’ Prize for Best PhD Thesis in Maritime Economics & Logistics (2016-2019)

IAME is proud to announce that, in pursuit of its commitment to promote quality research and strengthen research links, particularly among young researchers, the IAME associated journal MEL organises its seventh Competition for the best PhD theses that have been successfully defended during the period 31stMay 2016 to 28th February, 2019. [1]

The “MEL Palgrave Macmillan” Prize for the best PhD thesis, accompanied by a premium of € 1,000, will be awarded at a ceremony that will take place on Friday the 21st of June 2019, during the International Workshop “Constructing the ports of the future in resilient supply chains”, and held at the magnificent 13th century gothic palace of Saint George (Seat of the Genova Port Authority). The first runner-up will be awarded a prize of € 500 offered by the Hapag-Lloyd Centre for Shipping and Global Logistics of the Kühne Logistics University in Hamburg. A € 250 prize, sponsored by the Genova Port Authority, will be also awarded to the third best PhD thesis. The 3 short-listed authors will be invited to present their work in a special session of the Workshop, or arrange for suitable representatives to present on their behalf.

Authors should submit an electronic copy of their thesis plus an approximately 6,000-word paper of publishable quality, encapsulating the essence of the thesis (particularly the methodological part). Literature review should be limited to the absolute minimum, i.e. to works that bear directly upon the development of the thesis. MEL’s Instructions for Authors can be found on the journal’s website. Thesis and paper can be emailed to Professor Michele Acciaro (michele.acciaro@the-klu.org) or Professor Francesco Parola (parola@economia.unige.it) no later than the 28th of February, 2019. Submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the competent university authorities indicating the date the PhD thesis was defended.

[1] PhDs defended shortly before or after these cutoff dates could also be considered at the sole discretion of the jury. Such authors may contact professor Haralambides at haralambides@tamu.edu to motivate their specific case.

Submissions will be peer-reviewed by the following jury:

Co-chaired by: Francesco Parola (University of Genova) and Michele Acciaro (KLU-Hamburg)

  • Michele Acciaro, Kuehne Logistics University (Germany)
  • Kenneth Button, George Mason University (USA)
  • Pierre Cariou, Kedge Business School (France)
  • Young-Tae Chang, Inha University (Korea)
  • Kevin Cullinane, University of Gothenburg (Sweden)
  • Michael Dooms, University of Brussels (Belgium)
  • Hercules Haralambides, Texas A&M University (USA)
  • Jan Hoffmann, UNCTAD (Switzerland)’
  • Eleftherios Iakovou, Texas A&M University (USA)
  • Manolis Kavussanos, Athens University of Economics and Business (Greece)
  • Jasmine Siu Lee Lam, Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
  • Theo Notteboom, University of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Thanos Pallis, University of the Aegean (Greece)
  • Photis Panayides, Cyprus University of Technology (Cyprus)
  • Francesco Parola, University of Genova (Italy)
  • Harilaos Psaraftis, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • Anna Sciomachen, University of Genoa (Italy)
  • Siri Pettersen Strandenes, Norwegian School of Economics (Norway)